Different Styles of Yoga III

Different Styles of Yoga III
15 October, 2014


Viniyoga evolved from the teachings of the grandfather of yoga, T. Krishnamacharya and his son T.K.V. Desikachar.
In this style of yoga is all about conforming to an individual’s needs based on his or her profile (age, current and historical health condition, as well as the physical condition).
 This type of Yoga customizes the program for each student and gives the training privately. Viniyoga is more concern with function rather than form. What is very essential here is the careful assimilation of the following: breath control, spine movement, intensity, and sequencing.  Everything is dependent on the need of the individual.


This style gives a lot of emphasis on Tantra’s positive philosophy (inherent goodness of mankind) and physical alignment.  Anusara Yoga is light-heart and alignment oriented and is very ideal for everyone because it honors and respects each person’s limitations and abilities.  The poses are spiritually inviting and heart-oriented as it follows its literal meaning of “pursuing your heart’s desire” or “to act according to divine’s will”.


This style is Ashtanga-inspired incorporated with meditation, chanting, and teachings that are spiritually stimulating.  If one wants a physically-intense and fun class with great music and some chanting then this may be the style for you.


This is another intense Asana workout kind of Yoga.  The focus of the exercises is on deep breathing and abdominal strengthening to purify the body and release deep emotional issues and pain to enable one to move on with the healing process.    


This type of Yoga is referred to as the Yoga of consciousness as it works according to a person’s flexibility and strength limits. This style of Yoga is focused on coordination of proper breathing and alignment as well as knowing and respecting the wisdom of the body.  It turns you to look inward (towards healing and spiritual transformation). Learning the 3 stages in Kripalu is significant to be able to gain its benefits.  Stage one is about exploring the abilities of your body and learning the appropriate postures.  Second stage moves on to extending the period of holding the poses.  This stage helps one develop focus and inner awareness.  The last stage is enhancing the ability to spontaneously and unconsciously move from one pose to another.    


This is one of the more traditional styles of Hatha Yoga. It is based on five principles: Asana (a set sequence of 12 poses), Pranayama, Savasana (proper relaxation), Vegetarianism, Vedanta (yogic philosophy) & Dhyana (meditation).

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *